St. John Bosco High School was founded by the Salesians of Don Bosco in 1940.
The school is named for the 19th Century Italian saint and founder of a religious community called Salesians, who devoted themselves to the care and education of the young men, both spiritually and academically. St. John Bosco embraced the message of love found in the gospels and applied it to innovative educational methods. Today, the Salesians operate schools throughout the world, along with youth centers, homes for street children and vocational training centers.
In its early years, St. John Bosco School for Boys was a boarding and day school for elementary and intermediate students. In the 1950s, the school saw the addition of the chapel, swimming pool and its first high school students. In 1956, the school celebrated its first high school graduation. In the 1960s, the gym, science-library building and the stadium were welcome additions to the already expanding needs of a growing student body. In the latter part of the 1970s, the intermediate and boarding sections were closed. In the beginning of 2000, major renovations established the multi-purpose room and, soon after, the third floor of the administration building, which created additional classrooms, faculty offices and the first elevator. At the same time, the original kitchen was upgraded with more modern and serviceable appliances and space.
St. John Bosco High School is proud of its rich heritage, its long-standing tradition of educational excellence and its commitment to Christian values.